Organization of American States (OAS)
Last Updated: November 2018
Member States
Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyane, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts & Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Strategy Documents
Comprehensive Inter-American Strategy to Combat Threats to Cybersecurity: A Multidimensional and Multidisciplinary Approach to Creating a Culture of Cybersecurity (OAS General Assembly resolution AG/RES.2004 (XXXIV-O/04)
Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE), Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL), Meeting of Ministers of Justice or Other Ministers or Attorneys General of the Americas (REMJA).
Envisages three lines of action:
• Creation of a Hemispheric Network of Computer Security Incident Response Teams (CSIRTs)
• Identification and adoption of technical standards for a secure Internet architecture
• Adoption and/or adaptation of the legal tools necessary to protect Internet users and information networks from criminals and organized crime groups that exploit these systems
8 June 2004
Other Documents
Best Practices for Establishing a National CSIRT
General Secretariat, OAS
Discusses the process of managing a project for the creation and deployment of a National CSIRT, including approaches and considerations necessary to define its constitution, mission, vision, scope, services, timeframe, legal, and institutional or organizational aspects.
Latin American and Caribbean Cyber Security Trends
Organization of American States
Summarizes current trends in cybercrime, and best practices for enterprises in dealing with attacks
Declaration on the Protection of Critical Infrastructure from Emerging Threats
Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE)
Declares work in identifying pieces of critical infrastructure with vulnerabilities, threats, or risks than can be minimized or eliminated by means of exchanges of good practices and experiences
Declaration: Strengthening Cyber-Security in the Americas
Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE)
• Condemns terrorism;
• Reaffirms commitment to implement the OAS Comprehensive Inter-American Strategy to Combat Threats to Cybersecurity;
• Asserts the need for all member states to continue their efforts to establish, and/or strengthen national cyber incident alert, watch, and warning groups (CSIRTs).
7 March 2012
Specialized Agencies
Cyber Security Program, Inter-American Committee against Terrorism
• Cyber security program rests under critical infrastructure protection.
• Aims to promote and develop cooperation among Member States to prevent, combat and eliminate terrorism
Key Positions
Cyber Security Program Manager
Secretariat, the Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE)
No data available online
Meetings of Government Experts on Cyber Crime (Working Group on Cyber-Crime)

• Strengthens international cooperation in the prevention, investigation and prosecution of cybercrime, facilitate the exchange of information and experiences among its members, and make necessary recommendations to enhance and ensure efforts to combat these crimes
• Last meeting (IXth) took place in December 2016

Meetings of Ministers of Justice or other Ministers or Attorney General of the Americas and Cyber Crime
OAS Cyber Security Programme

Addresses cyber security issues based on a flexible and dynamic approach, with 7-point action plan:

  1. National cyber security strategy development;
  2. Cyber security training;
  3. CSIRT development and hemispheric network;
  4. Crisis management exercises (CMEs);
  5. Awareness raising;
  6. Cyber security technical assistance missions;
  7. Access to cyber security expertise
External Cooperation
Support in the development of national cyber security policy frameworks
Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE)

• Adopted: Colombia (2011), Panama (2012), Trinidad and Tobago (2013), Jamaica (2015);
• On-going: Dominica, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Suriname, Costa Rica, Paraguay, Peru.

Support in the creation of CSIRTs
Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE)

Bahamas, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Jamaica

Exchange of best practices on cyber security, OAS-Estonia
General Secretariat

Four-day training event on the development and management of national computer security incident response teams.

27-30 April 2015
Financial support, Estonia-OAS
Secretariat for Multidimensional Security

Financial support from Estonia for the Cyber Security Program.

27 March 2015
OAS Training Course on Computer Security Incident Response Teams (CSIRTs)
Cyber Security Program of the Inter-American Committee against Terrorism (CICTE)

Aimed at technical staff responsible for the development and management of CSIRTs from Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Honduras, Nicaragua, St. Kitts and Nevis, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago

March 2015
Global Forum on Cyber Expertise, Member

A global platform for countries, international organizations and private companies to exchange best practices and expertise on cyber capacity building

2015 (established)
MoU, Estonia-OAS
Secretariat for Multidimensional Security

MoU to promote the development of cyber security capabilities in the Americas.

20 October 2014